OLLI (Previously Encore)

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute was previously Encore.  OLLI groups meet on the second Tuesday at 2:30 pm.  

Oct. 9 – When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi (American Paperback not yet released. British Paperback can be ordered over the phone or in the store)    

Nov. 13 – The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead    

Dec. 11 – Alternate Side by Anna Quindlen  

2019

Jan. 8 – King Peggy by Peggielene Bartels    

Feb. 12 – Flash Boys by Michael Lewis    

Mar. 12 – Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue    

April 9 – A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles (Paperback not yet released)    

May 14 – Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan    

June 11 – The Radium Girls by Kate Moore    

July 9 – America's First Daughter by Stephanie Dray    

Aug. 13 – Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Adichie    

 

When Breath Becomes Air Cover Image
By Paul Kalanithi, Abraham Verghese (Foreword by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780812988406
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - January 12th, 2016

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?


The Underground Railroad: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780345804327
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - January 30th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize
Winner of the National Book Award
Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction
Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize


Alternate Side: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525509875
Availability: Coming Soon - PREORDER NOW!
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - November 13th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Captures the angst and anxiety of modern life with . . . astute observations about interactions between the haves and have-nots, and the realities of life among the long-married.”—USA Today


The charming real-life fairy tale of an American secretary who discovers she has been chosen king of an impoverished fishing village on the west coast of Africa.
 


Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393351590
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 23rd, 2015

"Guaranteed to make blood boil." --Janet Maslin, New York Times


Behold the Dreamers (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525509714
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - June 26th, 2017

A compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy


A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” Ann Patchett

“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance.” —The Washington Post


Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345516541
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - September 23rd, 2014

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • TODAY SHOW BOOK CLUB PICK • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.


The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492650959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks - March 6th, 2018

A New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller

"the glowing ghosts of the radium girls haunt us still."--NPR Books

The incredible true story of the women who fought America's Undark danger


America's First Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062347268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 1st, 2016

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER


Half of a Yellow Sun Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781400095209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - September 4th, 2007

A haunting story of love and war from “one of the world’s great contemporary writers” (Barack Obama), the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists.