Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Advanced Reader Recommendations (8-12)

Longer, more involved stories, few or no pictures: signs of a strong, independent reader.  Isn't it great to get lost in a good book?  Harry Potter, anyone?

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524767570
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

This sweet novel has all the elements of a great read - a plucky main character (Lucy, aka Lightning Girl - she was struck by lightning that made her a little OCD and a LOT brilliant at math), a secret (she doesn't want anyone at her new middle school to know she's Lightning Girl), new friend drama, understanding adults, and rescued dogs that need to be adopted. A quick read about how everyone has something unique about them that true friends will appreciate. Ages 8+ -Broche


Ghost (Track #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481450164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 29th, 2017

I  love  books  about  kids  making  mistakes  and  struggling  until  theymake  things  right.  And  boy  does  Ghost,  a.k.a.  Castle  Crenshaw,  make  some  BIG  ones.  What  this  young  track  runner  must  realize  ishe'll  always  be  running  until  he  deals  with  his  anger,  his  fears,  thepast.  Great  for  both  sports-lovers  and  non-lovers.-MICHELLE

 


The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

Deeply­drawn characters—sinister, daring, enchanting, and endearing. A thickly satisfying plot, threaded with magic, love, and millions of paper birds, making it an unforgettable read. And there's magic. REAL magic. The kind that touches your heart and seeps into your soul. Newbery medal winner, best for patient readers ages 10+

-MICHELLE


Karma Khullar's Mustache Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481477710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 14th, 2018

We can all sympathize with Karma's troubles­­navigating ever­changing 6th grade friendships and discovering that she's got 17 hairs growing above her lip. Reads like a modern day Judy Blume novel, especially reassuring for girls journeying through puberty. A body­positive book, great for ages 8+.-MICHELLE

 


The Secret of Nightingale Wood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338157475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chicken House - October 31st, 2017

A compelling read. Henrietta is a strong, inspiring heroine. She is confident in her own sense of  right and wrong even when the “grown-ups” disagree. In the summer of 1919, Henry and her family leave London to relocate to the English countryside, hoping for a fresh start. The family is  trying to recover from a tragic fire that took the life of Henry's older brother. The author sensitively deals with themes of grief, guilt and mental illness. (I read it in one sitting!) For 9+ -ABBE


Bronze and Sunflower Cover Image
By Cao Wenxuan, Meilo So (Illustrator), Helen Wang (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763688165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 14th, 2017

This touching story of family devotion and sacrifice is an oasis of compassion in today's landscape of conflict and self-centeredness. Set in China during the Cultural Revolution, it is the tale of a simple poor family whose mute son wants nothing more than to comfort and care for the orphaned daughter of an artist father who has disappeared and is feared dead. A celebration of the essential goodness of people, especially those who appear to have the least, made my heart happy. A wonderful choice for readers looking for a book that is honest yet uplifting. Perfect for fans of Grace Lin and Linda Sue Park. Ages  9+

 


Refugee Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545880831
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - July 25th, 2017

Three gutsy protagonist, three continents, three different time periods. Refugee tells the struggles of those who have and who continue to flee areas where oppression, hunger, and violence reign for the chance to have the life so many of us take for granted. An enlightening book that brings a heartfelt perspective to the immigration issues being faced in today's world. For ages 10+. -MICHELLE


Orphan Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062443410
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 30th, 2017

The mystery of this story – nine children living alone on an island with no memories of their past and no knowledge of their future – immediately intrigued me. The green boat will once again appear on the horizon, bringing a new child to this isolated place and taking the eldest away. A tale about growing up, Orphan Island explores the emotional roller coaster of saying good-bye to childhood and facing the risks of life's future. With characters whose thoughts, emotions, and conflicts reflect the challenges of choosing the path each will follow, Orphan Island is an intriguing book that will leave you with as many questions as answers. A wonderful choice for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Lauren Wolk. Ages 10+. - Cindy


Staff Pick Logo
Nowhere Boy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250307576
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 7th, 2018

If I ruled the world, I would require every adult to read this uplifting novel with a young person. 

This is the story of two boys, one is a 13 year old, white American from an upper-middle class family and the other is a 14 year old Syrian refugee who has lost his entire family. Both boys are struggling when they meet and become friends. There is plenty of action and intrigue to qualify this novel as a riveting page-turner (especially the second half). These young characters are brave, empathetic, kind and have a strong moral compass. An important and inspiring book. --Abbe


Staff Pick Logo
Very Rich Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823440283
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - September 25th, 2018

For fans of Roald Dahl!

Rupert, age 10, is one of A LOT of children in an extremely poor and highly unusual family. One Christmas morning, he finds himself almost electrocuted and hurled onto the lawn of the richest family in town, the Rivers (another exceedingly odd family). The Rivers invite Rupert in for Christmas Dinner (served at 9 am) and the kooky adventures begin. Rather wonderful. --Abbe


Staff Pick Logo
Hilda and the Troll: Book 1 (Hildafolk) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781909263789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flying Eye Books - December 1st, 2015

After reading this book, I want to be best friends with Hilda-- and you will too! In this first adventure, vivid illustrations follow the brave little adventurer as she meets a deer-fox, goes camping in the rain, deals with a rude but wise neighbor made of wood, practices her drawing skills, and escapes from a rock troll. Hilda is optimistic, endlessly curious, and able to make friends with every creature. She is a true role model for anyone-- kids and adults alike! --Kalee C.


Staff Pick Logo
Courageous Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338226850
Availability: Coming Soon - PREORDER NOW!
Published: Scholastic Press - November 27th, 2018

Determined 12-year-old Aidan and friend Sally are the daring characters in this historically accurate novel about Operation Dynamo, the civilian rescue of British troops in Dunkirk in May of 1940. Inspired by a call to service in a radio broadcast, and defying his parents wishes, Aidan sets sail in his family's fishing boat to retrieve his brother George and other soldiers surrounded by Nazi units. You will be turning pages rapidly to discover the outcome for these young heroic figures. For ages 8-12. --Mz Linda