Advanced Reader Recommendations (8-12)

Longer, more involved stories, few or no pictures: signs of a strong, independent reader.  Isn't it great to get lost in a good book?  Harry Potter, anyone?

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524767570
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

This sweet novel has all the elements of a great read - a plucky main character (Lucy, aka Lightning Girl - she was struck by lightning that made her a little OCD and a LOT brilliant at math), a secret (she doesn't want anyone at her new middle school to know she's Lightning Girl), new friend drama, understanding adults, and rescued dogs that need to be adopted. A quick read about how everyone has something unique about them that true friends will appreciate. Ages 8+ -Broche


Ghost (Track #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481450164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books - August 29th, 2017

I  love  books  about  kids  making  mistakes  and  struggling  until  theymake  things  right.  And  boy  does  Ghost,  a.k.a.  Castle  Crenshaw,  make  some  BIG  ones.  What  this  young  track  runner  must  realize  ishe'll  always  be  running  until  he  deals  with  his  anger,  his  fears,  thepast.  Great  for  both  sports-lovers  and  non-lovers.-MICHELLE

 


The Girl Who Drank the Moon Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

Deeply­drawn characters—sinister, daring, enchanting, and endearing. A thickly satisfying plot, threaded with magic, love, and millions of paper birds, making it an unforgettable read. And there's magic. REAL magic. The kind that touches your heart and seeps into your soul. Newbery medal winner, best for patient readers ages 10+

-MICHELLE


Karma Khullar's Mustache Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481477710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 14th, 2018

We can all sympathize with Karma's troubles­­navigating ever­changing 6th grade friendships and discovering that she's got 17 hairs growing above her lip. Reads like a modern day Judy Blume novel, especially reassuring for girls journeying through puberty. A body­positive book, great for ages 8+.-MICHELLE

 


The Secret of Nightingale Wood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338157475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chicken House - October 31st, 2017

A compelling read. Henrietta is a strong, inspiring heroine. She is confident in her own sense of  right and wrong even when the “grown-ups” disagree. In the summer of 1919, Henry and her family leave London to relocate to the English countryside, hoping for a fresh start. The family is  trying to recover from a tragic fire that took the life of Henry's older brother. The author sensitively deals with themes of grief, guilt and mental illness. (I read it in one sitting!) For 9+ -ABBE


Bronze and Sunflower Cover Image
By Cao Wenxuan, Meilo So (Illustrator), Helen Wang (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763688165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 14th, 2017

This touching story of family devotion and sacrifice is an oasis of compassion in today's landscape of conflict and self-centeredness. Set in China during the Cultural Revolution, it is the tale of a simple poor family whose mute son wants nothing more than to comfort and care for the orphaned daughter of an artist father who has disappeared and is feared dead. A celebration of the essential goodness of people, especially those who appear to have the least, made my heart happy. A wonderful choice for readers looking for a book that is honest yet uplifting. Perfect for fans of Grace Lin and Linda Sue Park. Ages  9+

 


Refugee Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545880831
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - July 25th, 2017

Three gutsy protagonist, three continents, three different time periods. Refugee tells the struggles of those who have and who continue to flee areas where oppression, hunger, and violence reign for the chance to have the life so many of us take for granted. An enlightening book that brings a heartfelt perspective to the immigration issues being faced in today's world. For ages 10+. -MICHELLE


Orphan Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062443410
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 30th, 2017

The mystery of this story – nine children living alone on an island with no memories of their past and no knowledge of their future – immediately intrigued me. The green boat will once again appear on the horizon, bringing a new child to this isolated place and taking the eldest away. A tale about growing up, Orphan Island explores the emotional roller coaster of saying good-bye to childhood and facing the risks of life's future. With characters whose thoughts, emotions, and conflicts reflect the challenges of choosing the path each will follow, Orphan Island is an intriguing book that will leave you with as many questions as answers. A wonderful choice for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Lauren Wolk. Ages 10+. - Cindy